March Mostra 2017 / Meet the Artists … Catherine Parsonage

The March Mostra is drawing closer, and in today’s blog we take a closer look at the practice of Catherine Parsonage (Sainsbury Scholar in Painting and Sculpture). This will be Catherine’s second BSR mostra, so we asked her to elaborate on how her BSR residency has impacted upon her work so far.

CatherineParsonage

Photo by Antonio Palmieri

Catherine Parsonage uses painting and sculpture to pursue the ultimate reduction of the female form, condensing the body to its most elementary essence through single deft lines. The drawings and paintings carefully choreograph the body as the fashion photographer might its subject, creating a distilled mise-en-scene, where the subtle shifts in weight and angle are imbued with movement and poise.

This is your second BSR Mostra – would you say your practice has changed much since the December Mostra? If so, how?

I think that my practice shifted very soon after I arrived at the BSR and has continued to do so since the December Mostra. All of the artists at the BSR during autumn had very particular approaches to painting and our conversations and time together encouraged me to approach painting in a way that more clearly reflects direct experience.

Since being in Rome, what has made a particular impression on you that has been reflected in your work?

The collection of Etruscan artefacts in Villa Giulia, particularly the ceramics and mirrors have definitely been reflected in my work, (as I already use very linear, reduced lines to depict the body.)

catherineparsonagevillagiulia

Etruscan mirror exhibited in the Villa Giulia. Photo by Catherine Parsonage.

Can you tell me a bit about the pieces you will be showing in the March Mostra?

The March Mostra is collaboratively curated so the final pieces are still slightly unknown but I think I will be showing a selection of drawings with a photograph, and then potentially a painting. It will be the first time I have exhibited a photograph alongside other works so it will be interesting to see how that plays out.

Have you been experimenting with different materials or techniques since being in Rome?

Yes I have been part of a printmaking group in Piramide for my first four months in Rome, it is the first time I have done any traditional etching and it has had a huge impact on my painting; I hope to continue etching throughout the rest of the residency.

How do you choose which pieces to show?

For this mostra particularly I am choosing pieces to test out some new combinations and modes of framing and showing.

Have you started to think about new ideas to work with for next term?

I have some longer term projects which I have been working towards for next term including a project in stained glass and ceramics.


Catherine’s work will be exhibited alongside the five resident artists in the March Mostra; open 16.30-19.00, Saturday 18 March until Saturday 25 March 2017, closed Sundays.

