June Mostra/Meet the Artists… Daniel Sinsel

Daniel Sinsel, Untitled, 2014. Oil on linen, nutshells, 150x130x10cm

Daniel Sinsel (Abbey Fellow in Painting April–June 2015)

I will eventually spell out the name H Ä N S E L. (Not only do Hänsel and I share the same number of letters in my first and surname, but also actual letters.) He was Gretel’s brother. He was captured and fed by a witch who was keen to have him as a roast dinner. His sister managed to rescue him.

My plan is to tell some of the story visually. I will use some Roman and Gothic lettering. By means of Italian earth pigments I tried to create some culinary allure to baking, roasting and cooking. I looked at a lot of Roman (marble) penes here. So I made two for Hänsel. I looked at frescoes and mosaics. I love the telling of stories combined with interior decoration. It’s a nice way to live.

Prima o poi riuscirò a compitare il nome H Ä N S E L (Non solo ho lo stesso numero di lettere nel mio nome a cognome come H Ä N S E L, ma anche le lettere stesse). Era il fratello di Gretel. Fu catturato e nutrito da una stregha che lo voleva mangiare per cena. La sorella riuscì a salvarlo.

Il mio piano è di narrare la storia con elementi visivi. Userò lettere romane e gotiche. Grazie all’uso di pigmenti italiani a base di terra ho provato a creare un richiamo culinario alla cottura al forno, all’arrosto, e alla cucina. Ho guardato molti peni romani (in marmo) durante la mia residenza, così ho deciso di farne due per Hänsel. Ho continuato a studiare affreschi e mosaici. Amo narrare storie combinandole con decorazioni per interni. È un bel modo di vivere.

 

Daniel Sinsel. Photo: Antonio Palmieri.

 


BSR Fine Arts June Mostra opens Friday 12 June 2015 18.30. Dates: 13–20 June (excluding Sunday). Hours: 16.30–19.00. Read the Press Release here or join the facebook event here.

