June Mostra/Meet the Artists… Rowena Harris

Rowena Harris, Searching for a sense of balance (part 3) – detail, 2015. Concrete, 28 x 21 x 6cm.

www.rowenaharris.com

Rowena Harris (Sainsbury Scholar in Painting & Sculpture 2014–15)

I had, of course, a long time ago, stopped thinking of myself as real. Well at some point I realised that virtual and reality are all but the same. So a sense of realness or having a distinction between myself as I and my body as I, or somehow comprehending the whole of my being as some kind of distinct singular entity, has, well, gone array. I have been trying to figure this out, you know, as an abstract exercise. Figuring Rome would be a place to find my missing parts. It’s a place for the body, for the senses – in the architecture, the streets and around. I thought they might be scattered on the ground somewhere, caught in petrified cement perhaps. I’m still hopeful I will find them.

Ho smesso tempo fa, naturalmente, di pensare a me stessa come persona reale. Ad un certo punto ho capito che il virtuale e la realtà sono pressoché la stessa cosa. Quindi il bisogno di aggrapparsi a un senso di realtà, o immaginare una distinzione tra il me come io e il mio corpo come io, o provare in qualche modo a comprendere tutto il mio essere come una singola entità, si è più o meno perso. Ho continuato a provare a chiarire questo concetto, sai, come un esercizio astratto. Pensando che Roma sarebbe un posto dove trovare i pezzi mancanti. È una città per il corpo, i sensi – nell’architettura, nelle strade e nei dintorni. Ho pensato che forse questi pezzi potrebbero essere sparpagliati da qualche parte, forse incastonati nel cemento. Sono ancora dell’idea che li troverò.

senzahead


BSR Fine Arts June Mostra opens Friday 12 June 2015 18.30. Dates: 13–20 June (excluding Sunday). Hours: 16.30–19.00. Read the Press Release here or join the facebook event here.

